My thoughts on Chris Brown

I forgive Chris Brown.

It’s a statement that not many people have been saying since he released his apology video on Monday. I am in the minority of people who forgive him and want him to move past this and have a comeback. A few months ago I wrote a blog about why I don’t hate Chris Brown and there was a lot of debate about it. People were wondering how I could not hate someone who beat up his girlfriend and didn’t seem remorseful about it at all.

My opinion on the whole situation is this, the way he and his people handled what happened after the fight was terrible. The first image the public saw of Chris after the incident was him riding on a jet ski, laughing it up. It wasn’t right. Which is why a lot of people are saying that this apology is too little too late. But when I watched the video, that seemed very rehearsed and scripted, I was satisfied because everything he said, was what I wanted to hear him say and what he should have said a while ago. I understand that he couldn’t speak about the incident while the trial was going on, but five months after the fact it did seem to come out of the blue.

Before all of this happened, I was a huge Chris Brown fan. I thought he was a talented singer, a cute guy and a phenomenal dancer. And when I say phenomenal, I mean one of the best. From ‘Run It’ to ‘Forever’ his improvement in the art form of dance continued to amaze me. His small scene in ‘Stomp the Yard’ made that movie. And now when I listen to his music or watch his videos it makes me sad that he did what he did and that his career could be ruined.

At this point, Chris Brown has faced the courts and has been given his punishment. He is not allowed to be near Rihanna, he has to do community service and take anger management. Though some may say he got off easy, at least he is being punished in some way. In the video Chris stated that he will do everything in his power to make sure that what happened in February will never happen again. What more could we ask from him?

In my view, there’s no point in holding this incident over his head. Maybe Rihanna has forgiven him, maybe she hasn’t, but I believe he has every right to move on. Everyone deserves forgiveness and I wish Chris and Rihanna the best. I hope they both can move on from this and get their careers back to how they were. And the only way they can do that is by putting out great music.

What do you guys think? Am I the only one who feels this way?

Leave a comment

Filed under Media

Leave a Reply

