This Thing Called Writing

I wrote my first novel three years ago. It just happened. I had always written short stories in a little notebook in class when I should have been listening to the teacher. Then I had this idea about this girl who worked at a bookstore and met this guy who changed her life and my first novel ‘Somewhere in the Middle’ was born. Since then, four more novels have been written and that first one is so paniful to read now.

With five unpublished novels completed and most of them revised, I feel like its time that I start looking for ways to get my books out there. I don’t want to do it so become rich and famous, I want people to meet my characters, have my books insprie them and maybe fall in love with a few characters (like I did).

I’ve started researching literary agents and the whole process of trying to find an agent is really scary and daunting. I already find myself questioning my book and wondering if people would like it, relate to it or even get it. I’ve been told that there aren’t many book out like mine and that may work for or against me.

In a nutshell, my novel is about a group of friends living in New York City. The story is about Rashad, the male lead and how he’s in love with his best friend’s girl. It’s told from the boy and girl perspectives and has a lot of drama in it. It’s original and very sweet but like any artist, looking at it compared to other things that are out right now, I wonder if my book could measure up. If anyone would want to read my story.

But then it feels like it has to happen for me because I can’t see myself doing anything else with my life. I didn’t set out to write a book– it just happened. And if I can’t sell my book, I don’t know what I’m going to do.

Any other aspiring writers out there feel my pain? Anyone have any tips for me with finding a literary agent?

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “This Thing Called Writing

  1. You could always contact the Northshire Bookstore in Manchester, VT and use their Expresso Book Machine to print 50 or so copies. Test the market, start making the rounds introducting yourself as an author and your book,identify your true market and then take it from there. See where that leads.

Leave a Reply

