Betty Suarez- My TV Hero

TV raised me and I have looked up to a lot of female characters. But none of them have inspired me like Betty Suarez from Ugly Betty. I have watched that show from day one for two reasons. One is that the main characters are all Latino. It’s refreshing to watch a show on a major network where the stars are not white. And secondly, as soon as I saw Betty she reminded me of myself.

There was a time I looked just like her. In high school I had the thick glasses and mouth full of braces. I would smile just like Betty too. When I smile I show all my teeth, braces or not and so does she. I was chubby like Betty and socially awkward.

From the first episode I felt like I understood her struggle. Watching her hold her head up high as people made fun of her and do well in career was so inspiring. Betty is not is shy and she stands up for what she believes in and works hard. That’s something about her that I admire.

So many things in my life that I struggle with, I watch Betty deal with and triumph over. For example in a recent epsiode, Betty went after a bad boy and wanted to prove to everyone that she was fearless. People tried to talk her out of it and keep her in the little box they were comfortable with. But Betty proved all of them wrong. Not only did she prove that she could get the guy, she showed that she can do whatever she puts her mind to and people can’t define her. That is so inspirational to a girl like me.

There are moments that I wish I could trade places and be her. She works in Manhattan, doing a job that I would love. She’s able to write articles and meet cool people. And Betty always has men. Always. The series started when she was with nerdy Walter, who she left for Henry who was her true love, then there was Geo and Matt and the guy who lived down the hall from her. She’s a normal looking girl who always seems to have boys around her. Makes me so jealous.

No matter what, Betty keeps her head held high and stays positive. She will do whatever it takes to do right by her friends and complete whatever task is given to her at work. I wish I had that kind of drive.

This season, they gave Betty a mini makeover. Gone are the thick red rimmed glasses, bushy eyebrows and bangs. She looks better, and it’s a minor change but I miss the old Betty. There was so much pressure on her to change the way she looked and she always stayed true to herself.

Ugly Betty is one of my favorite shows because I can relate to her. Betty is a character that makes me feel like I can do whatever I put my mind to.

3 Comments

Filed under Media

3 responses to “Betty Suarez- My TV Hero

  1. Jemma Bond

    Nicely written. How she managed to control her temper at Mode when she was insulted by Marc and Amanda was legendary. She didn’t sleep her way to the top, she worked hard. But most of all, she showed us that we are all beautiful in our own special way – braces or no braces. Betty, I salute you.

  2. Wow! You said everything I wanted to say it’s like you read my mind 🙂 . Betty Suarez is such an inspiring character. She is not one of those fantasy characters that doesn’t exist . Her story is based on an average normal girl’s life. She really inspires me in so many ways . She taught me to be myself to keep your head held high even when a lot of people are trying to bring you down. She taught me that it’s okay to change even thought change is scary because that’s just the way life is but Don’t lose yourself. Be Honest . Speak from your heart . I see a lot myself when i watched Betty not only the braces but also how people think that I’m not fearless or I can’t take risks. I also learned from Betty Suarez that you have to do whatever you love to do because people will change you anyway no matter if you’re Rich, Poor, Needy, Fashion Icon or whatever!

Leave a Reply

