2010 Thoughts

It’s the first post of 2010 and I’m a little late. The year hasn’t started off that great. I’ve been sick and lying around the house, watching the endless Haiti coverage. I haven’t attacked the year like I planned, but from now, I’m gonna try. There’s a lot I want to do this year. Write poetry. Go to New York City to see In The Heights. Get a new job. Go on a date. Just live life to the fullest. I’m twenty four now, I want to live everyday to its fullest and be positive everyday.

Another thing I want to focus on is writing and posting more on my wonderful blog! Starting this blog last year was one of the best things I did. This is my space to be me no matter what, with no apologies.

So since it’s been so long since I’ve last posted, here are my thoughts on a few things that have been going on in the world.

Avatar – A million bloggers have written their thoughts in much more elegant and intelligent ways than I ever could. But I loved it, so much. I’ve seen it twice and loved it even more after seeing it the second time. It’s a phenomenon. I’ve never seen anything like it. Yesterday we got up early to see it in Imax at 11:45 in the morning and it was sold out. The line stretched around the block. We were shocked. But the movie deserves all the hype. Yeah, there are racial elements, environmental messages, maybe even some anti American messages, but it was a powerful, beautiful film. After I saw it again yesterday, I walked out of the theater wishing that I was a Na’vi princess.

Graffiti – Chris Brown’s album. I bought it and I’m not sure why. I think that if the incident didn’t happen, I probably wouldn’t buy it. But now that I forgive him and love him as an artist, I felt like I should prove it. And the album is so good. It’s sad that record sales were low, that some stores didn’t carry the album or put it out on shelves, but I still feel like he came out with the album too fast. It hasn’t even been a year yet. My advice to Chris is to sit out 2010, get better, chill out and then come back in 2011 and have a huge comeback.

Jersey Shore – No one can escape talk about this show. So this Friday I gave in and watched about three episodes back to back. I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the screen. All racial stereotypes aside, I can’t get over how violent the show is. Every single episode someone is getting in a fight or getting slapped or punched. It’s fascinating, mind numbing television. I wouldn’t say that I’m hooked, but I’ll probably keep watching.

Lady Gaga – She is taking over the world right now. I bought the Fame Monster album and haven’t stopped playing it. She is such a talented perfromer and song writer. Even Oprah seemed impressed when she was on her show on Friday. Gaga will be around for a while.

It’s 2010! I still can’t believe it. There are no more excuses this year. I’m going to do things that scare me and hopefully grow in to the person I want to be.

And this blog will document it all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

