A Love Story

Last night, like every night, I tuned in to CNN at 10pm to watch AC 360. Anderson Cooper is in Haiti and I was interested to find out what was going on over there. What I saw was something that made me see Anderson Cooper in a completely different way and fall in love with him.

He did a segment on some looting that was happening in an area of Port-Au-Prince. In the midst of all this chaos, Anderson was calm, speaking to the camera about what was going on, even shooting some footage himself as gun shots were fired in the air. That in itself was amazing to see, that he had no fear and was right in the middle of the situation. Then a little boy got hit in the face with debris and Anderson helped carry him away from the crowd so he wouldn’t be trampled. The boy was bleeding heavily so Anderson puts his camera down and carries him to safety. It was incredible to watch.

What other journalist would risk his own life and try to help people in a situation like that except him? He’s so passionate about his work. All through his show last night he seemed so frustrated at the slow pace of aid arriving in Haiti. He was looking at the camera and practically begging for people to help.

I don’t know what it is about Anderson Copper that makes me love him so much. I don’t even remember what it was exactly to make me pay attention to him. There was a time when he was everywhere, I think it was when his book came out a few years ago, and I didn’t pay any attention to it. I think it was watching him fill in for Regis on Regis and Kelly that really made me start liking him. Whenever he is on that show I have to stop what I’m doing and watch and I giggle for the entire hour. Not only is he super smart but he’s funny too.

I feel inspired right now. He loves his job. He doesn’t do it for the money. He just wants to report the facts and help people. I have already donated to Haiti and now I’m thinking about doing it again because the situation there is serious. He has become someone I look up to.

After last night, my small Innocent crush has turned in to a full blown obsession. I’m buying his book tomorrow and will be in front of my TV tonight to watch AC 360. There are very few journalists on TV right now like Anderson Cooper. He is a class act. If I ever met him…. I’d probably scare the hell out of him because I’d jump in his arms.

Keeping em’ honest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Media

Leave a Reply

