My Perfect NYC Trip – Part Three

The final installment of my NYC trip recap! On my last full day in New York City, I meet one of my favorite celebrities and see a musical that has quickly become one of my favorites of all time.

My last day in New York was the one I was the most excited about. I was finally going to see In The Heights, a musical I’ve wanted to see for two years and I’d get to see Corbin Bleu, one of my favorite actors, playing the lead role. I took the subway to Times Square by myself, by then it was no big deal. Whenever I was on the subway I just pretended I was a local. It seemed to work for me.

As I walked through Times Square the word that came to mind was bustling. There was activity going on everywhere. Tourists were snapping pictures, people on the streets were handing out panphlets for Broadway shows, random guys were walking down the street dressed like Cookie Monster and Spongebob. It was awesome. I did some souviner shopping, ate a real NYC hotdog, and just wandered around, soaking everything in. I went in to American Eagle and had a cool conversation with an employee there and bought some shirts. Yes, we have an American Eagle here but they had some exclusive NYC shirts that I couldn’t resist. 

Then it was time to get in line for the show. I picked up my ticket and bought the show book for $15. I had to get it. My seat was up in the cheap area, but I didn’t care. I was able to see the stage – that’s all that mattered.

What can I say about this show? I’m thinking about doing a whole post on it and how it totally blew my mind. This was the third Broadway show I’ve seen in NYC with ‘celebrities’ as the lead. When I was seventeen I saw Toni Braxton play Aida, in 2007 we saw Fantaisa star in the Color Purple, and I saw Corbin in In The Heights. I’m not saying that he was the best I’ve seen, but the overall show was the best (behind the Lion King of course). The soundtrack is what got me. It’s Latin music mixed with hip hop mixed with traditioal Broadway sounds. At intermission I got up and bought the soundtrack for $30. I’ve never done that before and I don’t know if I will ever do it again. If you have the chance to see In The Heights I strongly reccomend it!

After the show, for the first time I stood at the stage door like a fangirl waiting to see Corbin. Standing there in the cold, I don’t think it really hit me that he was going to come out. I had my playbill out, and when cast members came out I got them to sign it. I looked at all the girls waiting and realized that I was the only person who was alone. If Corbin came out, I didn’t have anyone to take the picture for me. When he walked out the door and started signing autographs, I shouted “OH MY GOD!” Really loud. Then I started shaking. If you know me, you know how much I love Corbin and his talent. I turned to the family beside me and asked if they’d take my picture with him and they happily agreed.

Corbin at the stage door

He finally made his way to us, so I took the pictures of the family beside me with him. I hope they turned out okay because I was shaking so badly. I knew he was looking at me so I couldn’t focus. Then he turns to me and one of the ladies says, “This girl here is your biggest fan!” He laughs and signs my book. This is when it gets kind of fuzzy. I don’t remember exactly what I said but I think it was something like, “I love you so much and I cried at the end of High School Musical 3.” So dumb. Instead of telling him that he did a great job in the show, or that I came all the way from Canada to see him, I told him I cried at the end of HSM 3. We posed for a picture. He smelled so good. And then he moved on. It happened so fast.

The picture turned out GREAT and he was super nice. It took me a few hours before it finally hit me that I met him. It was a dream come true. The perfect ending to my trip.

That night my roommate and I went to Macys and shopped a bit, then went to TGI Fridays for dinner. At ten on a Saturday night, the place was crazy! There were so many beautiful, cool, people in there that night. I was just people watching and it was so much fun. Every single thing about New York City inspired me. I wanted to whip out a notebook and start writing right there at the table.

That was the last night. The next morning we packed up, climbed on the bus and said goodbye to New York City.

It was a trip that I will never forget. I’m so glad I took the chance and went. I learned a lot about myself, mostly that I can survive on my own and that I could totally live there. I want to move there even more now. I’m so thankful for the experience. The only way I can describe it is perfect.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “My Perfect NYC Trip – Part Three

  1. Renae

    Phew! Just read all three entries. I’m so glad you had fun there even though you were nervous. I don’t know this Corbin dude but I’m sure you’ve told me about him before…either way, it all sounds totally awesome! I can’t believe you came home at 3am in the morning though! Doesn’t matter if it’s Harlem, doesn’t matter if it’s downtown Tdot! I think it’s a dangerous idea in general!!! Buttt you survived and that’s the important part lol. =) Just don’t go running of to New York permanently anytime soon!! ahhhh

Leave a Reply

