The End of an Era

I’ve been in mourning for a few days. I feel sort of empty inside. And it’s all because of writing. Last week, I finished my sixth novel, the thrid and final instalment in my series following the love saga of Rania and Rashad. Now that it’s done, I really don’t know what I’m going to do with myself.

Writing this novel was hard and so much fun at the same time. It took me about two months to finish the first draft. The entire time I was writing, I went from loving the book so much and thinking it was brilliant, to questioning everything and wondering if the book even made sense. Of course it needs work, but I think it’s pretty good. Besides the first one that will always be my favorite, this one comes in second. I think I like it so much because I could see how much my characters have grown. When I started the series two years ago, they were 21 and immature. The series ends when they’re 24 and so much wiser and smarter. It was amazing to see how much they’ve grown up and turned in to smart, responsible adults.

I know they’re just characters, but the impact this series has had on my life can’t even be measured. I’ve written books before this one and will probably write more after, but I don’t think anything can top this. No other characters have become such a big part of my life, I’ve never fallen in love with a character like I’m in love with Rashad. It feels like graduation and I’m saying goodbye to my best friends. It’s so sad. I actually started crying when I finished the book for two reasons, the first being that I’ll miss them like crazy and the second for being done and knowing that I left the series in a good place.

I’m at the point in my life where I need to write all the time, because I can’t face reality, so now I don’t know what to do with myself. I have a romance novel to finish and my dance novel I wrote three years ago could be redone, but I have no ideas for anything new, mostly because it feels like nothing will top what I just finished. It kind of sucks.

Are there any writers out there who understand what I’m talking about? I know it sounds weird. But that’s the life of a writer, I guess.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

