Lady GaGa Monster Ball Review

I am proud to call myself a Little Monster, the term Lady GaGa uses in reference to her fans. Last night when she brought her Monsters Ball to the Air Canada Center, everyone in the sold out crowd were Little Monsters.

Going in to the show, I knew it was going to be entertaining. If it was anything like GaGa’s performance from the 2009 MTV VMA’s where she performed ‘Paparazzi’ and finished the performance strung up in the air covered in fake blood, I figured she would be good live. But I had no idea how good.

I’ve seen a lot of amazing concerts, and the Monsters Ball is one of the best I’ve seen. Right up there with Janet Jackson’s Rock Wit You tour and Justin Timberlake’s Futuresex/LoveShow.

The crowd was diverse. Young girls and their parents, groups of girlfriends, and couples. Elton John walked in to the stadium to enjoy the show.  Many people dressed up like her. I saw more than one girl with pop cans in her hair, lightning bolts painted over one eye, one girl was covered in yellow caution tape. There was a guy walking around in heels, fish net stockings and a wide brim hat. His look was my favorite.

GaGa opened the show from behind a screen singing “Dance in the Dark.” She didn’t appear on stage until after the second verse, which I thought was a slightly slow beginning. I like the artist to jump right out so the audience could see them right away and lose it. Once she did show her face and finished the first song, she just stood in front of the crowd for a few moments and everyone went crazy.

From there, the show and the story began. GaGa and her friends are trying to make their way to the Mosnters Ball. They start in a dark part of the city, then they get on the subway, get lost in a forest and at the end are finally confronted by the monster, who actually eats her. Along the way GaGa sang her biggest hits (she sang live for the entire show and sounded great. There were many times you could hear her breathing in her mic), and danced hard. She may not be the best dancer, but she puts her all in to the movement. I have to give props to choreographer Laurie Ann Gibson for creating unique, interesting choreography.

In between songs, GaGa spoke to the audience. She spoke of individuality, of not listening to people who say you’re not good enough, that it’s okay to be who you are whatever that may be. I loved this message and the conviction in her voice. I pumped my fist in the air and screamed until I couldn’t anymore. For people who feel like misfits or that they don’t belong, GaGa shows that it’s okay to be who you are. I think it’s a great message. She told the crowd that money will be donated to a charity that will help homeless LGBT teens and gave a huge shout out to all the “gay boys in Toronto.”

My favorite performances were the dance ones (of course).  “Telephone”, “Teeth”, “Monster” and “So Happy I Could Die” had me on my feet, screaming the lyrics. GaGa can sing with a face mic while she dances and then sit at a flaming piano and belt out slow songs like “Speechless.” It was the part of the show that reminded the audience that she has real talent too.

It was the kind of show where I was able to dance and sing along, but also get hyped and excited and feel the energy in the room flow through me. Especially when she came back for the encore of “Bad Romance.” The entire audience was on its feet, singing along and dancing. Some people at the front of the stage had made a Canadian flag with rainbow colours on the side. GaGa picked up the flag and held it up proudly. The crowd went crazy. It was an unforgettable moment.

At the end of the night, I came away with respect for GaGa as an artist. She is a true artist. Her outfits were outrageous, at one point she was covered in hair, and the set was constantly changing. Through all of that she sang live, talked to the crowd and seemed sincere about thanking everyone for coming to the show. This may sound a little cheesy, but I left the show feeling like I can do whatever I want to, no matter what anyone says. I guess that’s what a good concert can do.

2 Comments

Filed under Media, Music

2 responses to “Lady GaGa Monster Ball Review

  1. Felix

    Good review! I wish I was there !

    You gave me a nice glimpse of it.
    =)

  2. Chris

    She reminds me of Madonna from back in the day. The only difference is, this gal can sing. Madonna, bless her heart, couldn’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

