Glee and Britney

Last night was the highly anticipated Glee episode dedicated to the music of Britney Spears. Everyone was hyped about it and expected it to be as epic as the Madonna episode. It definitely wasn’t, but I enjoyed it. It reminded me of how much I love Britney and the impact her music has had on my life.

The episode was about the Glee club wanting to perform a Britney song at a school assembly. When a dentist visits the school, some of the glee members have Britney visions and recreate some of her iconic videos. It sounds stupid putting it like that, and it was stupid. But no one watches Glee for the plot. I know I don’t. The star of the episode was Heather Morris, who plays Brittany, who did a version of “Slave 4 U” and “Me Against the Music.”

Morris, who is a professional dancer,  killed the routines. She danced hard and of course I could appreciate it. But what blew me away was the choreography. They did not do any original choreography from the videos (which was kind of disappointing to me because the choreography is just as iconic), but created movement that was very similar. I was impressed, especially during “Slave.” If you didn’t know what the real dance looked like (but how could you not?) you’d probably think they were doing the orignal movements. Same goes for “Me Against the Music” but in that one, they added even more dancing than what was in the original video. I enjoyed it. Those are the things I notice that no one else does.

Lea Michele’s take on “Baby One More Time…” was the weakest in the show. She sounded great and looked great, but this girl cannot dance. Sorry. All she was doing were a few hip pops. The “Baby One More Time…” choreography isn’t that tough. She couldn’t even do the poses at the very end. “Stronger” was okay as well, it reminded me of how much I love that song and it fit in more with the storyline.”Toxic” was the most Glee themed number. They slowed the song down and made it their own. It was pretty good.

The cameos by Britney herself were stupid. She’s not a great actress and it felt forced. She didn’t really need to be there. Overall, it was an enjoyable hour. I wasn’t expecting much, so I wasn’t let down. Glee is a show I only watch for a few chuckles and to hear some good music. The acting, the plot and characters are a joke.

The whole episode though, made me realize how much I love Britney Spears. Honestly, if I was in the cast of Glee, they could have put on any Britney song that had dancing in the video, and I could do it from beginning to end. For real. I watched this performance of “Me Against the Music” and slid on the carpet in my basement until I got it right. I watched the famous 2001 VMA performance of “Slave” with the snake and learned every step. I grew up with Britney, from watching her as a kid on MMC, to becoming the biggest pop star in the world. Her music defines my teen years and this episode of Glee made me realize that.

After the show I was browsing Twitter and people were saying that Glee should have done/should do a Janet Jackson episode. If that ever happens, my head will explode.

1 Comment

Filed under Dance, Music, Television

One response to “Glee and Britney

  1. Lorna

    Amazing review of Glee. I liked the show and didn’t even notice that they were not doing the actual choreorgraphy. A Janet tribute would be wicked!

Leave a Reply

