Writing Life

The lack of updates on the blog is because I’ve fallen in to a book again. Previously I’ve written on this blog that I finished the last book in my series and was hoping for some inspiration to get lost in a new story and fall in love with some new characters. Well, the inspiration has hit me and in about a month, I have 82 pages of a brand new novel. I like it, I don’t LOVE it, but it’s fun to write and I like the main character.

The basic plot is taken from my imagination running wild about this author I like. The main character, Mia, only falls in love with guys she doesn’t know, guys she sees on TV. Then she reads this book by a writer who lives in NYC (surprise, surprise) and feels so connected to him. He comes to her hometown to do a book signing and things happen between them from there. I’ve created some pretty cool supporting characters, and Mia is interesting. If I find that I want to be my main character, that usually means I like her. I do, so Mia can stay.

The problem I have now, that always happens to me, is I have no idea what I’m going to do with the rest of the book. I’ve created these characters and put them in to these situations and I don’t know how to get them out of it. It happens ALL the time. I’m not one of those writers who can make an outline and figure out every little twist and turn. I like to just write and let the characters do and say what feels naturally to them and see where it takes me. I do have a few ideas that I’ve written down, but nothing is concrete yet.

I think this is the biggest flaw in my writing. Because I don’t plan out my plots, my books don’t have those twisty, compelling plots that make the reader gasp at what happens. I like to call my books character based, instead of plot based. But I wish I could change that. Reading 32 Candles by Ernessa T. Carter, my favorite book of the year, inspirited me to step my writing game up. The plot in that book is so complex, with so many twists. I don’t know if I could do that. But I want to with this book.

I’m going to keep writing and see what happens. In the past, I’ve finished an entire draft, then when rewriting I think of a plot twist and then add it in. That might happen again with this book.

No matter what, it’s nice to be swept up in a new novel and not have to deal with reality.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Writing Life

  1. Ren

    I have the same problem. I was told that your characters will let you know where the story is going but for some reason, mine are kind of mute right now or else they might be having conversations and are just not including me 😦
    Keep at it, Mandy.

  2. Lorna

    Keep at it, I know you will figure things out and produce an amazing result as you always do.

Leave a Reply

