Whip My Hair

Willow Smith debuted her new video for her breakout single “Whip My Hair” last night on 106 and Park, and I had to write a post about it. I don’t usually write about music videos, but this video totally brought a ray of sunshine in to my otherwise dark and cloudy day.

Yesterday I was in a bad mood. From the time I got up at 4:30 am, to when I got home, I was in tears on and off for the whole day. I get like that sometimes. I’m working on it. So I get home, trying to write, flipping back to Twitter, and I see the Willow video leaked and hit the net around 1:30pm. I was excited to see the video because I knew Hi Hat was choreographing. I was expecting greatness, and that’s what I got.

Willow absolutely killed the video. She was cute, sassy and fun. The video was colourful and age appropriate. She had a bunch of different hairstyles and whipped her hair real, real hard. I loved it because here is this nine-year old, cute as a button black girl, whipping her braids, being so confident and fierce. Yeah, she has superstar parents and can get anything she wants, but she seems so sure of her little nine-year old self. When I was nine I was chubby and was obsessed with Justin Timberlake on the Mickey Mouse Club. I know it sounds cheesy, but watching Willow be so fearless made me feel like I could be too, and I’m damn near twenty-five.

Twitter went nuts over the video. Especially because the queen of whipping hair, Leyomi from Vogue Evolution who competed on America’s Best Dance Crew season 4, was in the video. That made the video perfect. She’s right at the end, in the white outfit, doing her famous drop.

Life has been rough for me these past few weeks and a music video made my day yesterday. It’s cheesy to say. I used to say things like this when I was twelve, but it’s true.

Watch the video here.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Personal, Rant

One response to “Whip My Hair

  1. Lorna

    I liked the video too and thought that Willow was really cute. I’m glad to hear that this video cheered you up. Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

