A Month Without Facebook

I deleted my Facebook page a month ago on a whim. I was feeling down, and bored, and decided to shut it down for a while and take a break. I’d been bored with Facebook for a while. Since I discovered Twitter, Facebook had taken a backseat. With Twitter, things are constantly changing, I could be on it all day and find out what’s going on in the world, what new songs just hit the Internet, which celebrities are feuding. It’s great. It’s exciting. Facebook? Not so much. I was getting sick of reading about what people I barely talked to in high school did on the weekend, or what people I work with are cooking for dinner. I don’t care. I don’t want to read it, I don’t want to see the pictures.

Once I clicked that I wanted to deactivate my account, I had a moment of panic. What if there’s an event that someone wanted to invite me to and I can’t see it? How will people tag me in their pictures? Where will I post cool videos I like? I wanted to just suck it up and get my account back. But I waited it out and slowly adjusted. It took willpower on some days not to join back up and see what was going on. I missed the random links, the creeping on people’s pages and reading wall to wall chats between people.

Now, it’s been a month and I’m thinking I’ll be able to live without it for a while. My plan is to reactivate my account near my birthday in January to invite my friends list to whatever I have planned. After that I may disappear again.

With the hype around the movie, The Social Network, I felt a bit out of the loop. Facebook has something like a billion users and I just shut down my account. But I remember the days when Facebook was cool. When I joined all the groups and would get super excited when I saw someone wrote on my wall. I’d get to see who people were dating and know when someone was happy or sad. I’d write on the wall of boys I had crushes on in high school and feel like a loser when they wouldn’t write back. When I got my account maybe around 2005 or 2006, it was slightly exclusive. Only people my age were on it. Now my little cousin has it, my aunt and uncle. Once that happened, I had to censor my page and it took all the fun out of it. Before I got rid of my account, I was mostly concerned about the privacy settings. I have a lot of pictures and blogs on my account that I don’t want any random person looking at. The thing is though, my account isn’t really gone. It’s just deactivated. I can just sign back in and pick up right where I left off. My pictures, friend list and settings will still be there. It will be like I never left and that’s the freaky part. One day if I decide I want out permanently – then what? Is there a way to completely delete your Facebook account? The whole thing is a bit shady.

It’s nice to be off Facebook. If people want to know what I’m doing they can read my emo tweets on Twitter. I’d rather write about my life in 140 characters or less instead of posting pictures of events I don’t go to or having to untag unflattering photos of myself.

Deleting Facebook may have been one of the best decisions I’ve made all year.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Rant

One response to “A Month Without Facebook

  1. Mandy. Get back on FB. All writers need FB more than FB needs us. Other people (read non-artists) can afford to do this, but if and when you get a publishing deal, you will be very annoyed with yourself for not cultivating one of your platforms the way you should have.

Leave a Reply

