2010

This year went by in a flash. It seems like it just started. Personally, I didn’t have the best year. The best part of my year was going to New York City for four days in February. It wasn’t only the best part of my year, but of my life. I got to see In The Heights, meet Corbin Bleu, go to a poetry slam and live in Harlem. Nothing else that happened this year can compare to that (but seeing Lady Gaga’s Monster Ball comes pretty damn close). Here are my thoughts on the year.

Television:

My favourite show of the year was definitely Fringe. It’s not a new show, it was something I would turn on randomly. I bought the first season on DVD and got officially hooked. It’s a show that’s smart, well written and acted, with a great storyline. I was watching old episodes on DVD and at the same time watching the brand new episodes in season three on TV. Season three has been the best TV I’ve watched all year. I’m not that in to sci fi, but when an alternate universe that is just like ours but slightly different declares war on our universe, that’s damn good TV. If you don’t watch the show, that just made no sense, so watch it. It’s awesome.

With reality shows, I enjoyed this season of Dancing with the Stars, the last season of America’s Best Dance Crew and So You Think You Can Dance, if it’s a show about dance, I’m gonna watch it. I also got hooked on Police Women of Dallas/Memphis on TLC. I’m not normally a fan of police shows, but this show focuses on women who try to do right by their community and they have pretty awesome accents. It shows a side of the police you don’t usually see, they try to help people and get the bad guys off the street. In 2011, Police Women of Cincinnati is starting. Can’t wait.

Books:

I tried to count how many books I read this year and I estimated it’s around 40-45. One of my goals was to read more non fiction and I did that by reading a lot of biography and of course I read a lot of fiction as well. I read some great stuff by black female writers, a few books about slavery and some contemporary romance. Here’s a small list of some of the best stuff I read this year:

– “32 Candles” by Ernessa T. Carter

– “Girl Who Fell From the Sky” by Heidi Durrow

– “Wench” by Dolen Perkins-Valdes

– “Substitute Me” by Lori Tharps

– “Orange Mint and Honey” by Carleen Brice

– “Losing My Cool” by Thomas Williams

– “The Lost Hero” & “The Red Pyramid” by Rick Riordan

– “Mockingjay” by Suzanne Collins

– “The Known World” by Edward P. Jones

– “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro

– “Black Water Rising” by Attica Locke

Music:

Music wasn’t that great this year. Pop music turned very electronic and it all sounded the same. I spent most of the year listening to R&B from the 90’s. There were a few artists that I did love this year. Kanye West of course, who arguably put out the best album of the year. He made me believe in the future of hip hop. Bruno Mars made me believe in the future of pop music. Even though his songs have been played out on the radio, I was lucky enough to see him perform live and he’s a true talent. In the past two months, I bought albums by Miguel and Diddy Dirty Money that have been in heavy rotation on my iPod. And I fell in love with J. Cole who’s the best rapper out right now in my opinion. Hopefully his album drops in 2011.

My vote for song of the year goes to “Deuces” by Chris Brown, Tyga and Kevin McCall. This was the year my Breezy had a bit of a comeback. “Deuces” was a number one single, he released a mixtape, and got mad radio play with “Yeah 3x.” Not to mention his incredible, go down in history, dance tribute to Michael Jackson at the BET Awards. There are still people who dislike him, and I get it, but I’m so happy that he’s slowly “crawling” back to being the star he once was. According to Twitter, he’s got a song with Justin Bieber that’s supposed to drop in the new year. If that’s the case, 2011 may be the year Chris Brown returns to form. Another banger of the year was “Whip My Hair” by Willow Smith, who shut things down. The song goes so hard, and she can definitely sing. I also loved “All I Want is You” by Miguel and J.Cole. It’s such a laid back, soulful song that I can listen to nonstop.

I had a few struggles, especially with writing. I had my confidence shaken after taking a writing class, but on the positive side, I did write an amazing novel this year, finishing my trilogy. I’ve just started a new novel as well, so no matter what, I’m going to write. It may not be good, or up to people’s standards, but it makes me happy, it’s in my soul and I can’t stop.

There are no resolutions for 2011. I just want to keep making changes, try hard to stay positive and happy, and for my family to stay happy and healthy. If that happens, it will be a good year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Music, Television

Leave a Reply

