America’s Best Dance Crew Season 6 Recap

It’s been over a year, and finally America’s Best Dance Crew (ABDC) is back with a brand new season. Dubbed the “Season of the Superstars”, each week the crews will have to perform to music from popular “dance” music artists like Kesha, Katy Perry, Rihanna and the artist of the premiere episode, Lil Wayne. It’s a brand new season with new crews and a new judge, D-Trix, who won with his crew, Quest, in season 3. It’s been so long, and I’m an ABDC super fan, so I’m going to break down my thoughts on the first five crews who performed this week.

The episode opened with a group number, something that doesn’t usually happen until much later in the season. I’m a big fan of the group dances and this one was a great way to start the show, to see all the crews soon to be competing against each other, dancing together as a team. It was also a great way to introduce each crew to the audience.

First crew up was IaMmE, a tutting crew featuring Phillip Chbeeb from season 5 of So You Think You Can Dance. In previous seasons I didn’t think it was fair when professional dancers would come on ABDC with their crews and compete. But now I enjoy seeing dancers I recognize come on the show and dance on TV again. This crew was one of my favorites. The call their intricate tutting style “brain banging” because it’s something you’d have to rewind and watch again. I thought their performance was sick, especially since we’ve never seen a tutting crew on the show before. I loved how complex their arm movements were, how it went with the music, and that it was something I’ve never seen before. I think this crew will have a lot to show in future episodes.

Phunk Phenomenon was up next, a straight up hip hop, choreography based crew. Featuring one female, they came out and danced pretty hard, but they didn’t make a big impression on me. They danced to “A Mili” a song with great beats that I would have loved to see them hit, but they didn’t. They could have done a lot more with a song like that. The judges loved them, but this is a crew that’s going to have to win me over.

Request Dance Crew is an all female crew representing New Zealand. Just for that I’m rooting for them. There are sick dancers all over the world, not just America. All of the girls in the crew are Polynesian and call their style “Poly Swag.” They were definitely interesting to watch, they danced clean and sort of told a story with their movement. I was just hoping they’d come out harder. They have such a unique look, all of them dyed their hair red and they were in funky outfits, but they weren’t as amazing as I thought they’d be. I’m still rooting for them though and hope they kill it in the next episode. I always root for the all female teams!

In my notes I put down that I liked Eclectic Gentlemen’s swag but their routine was forgettable and cheesy, and it seems like the judges agreed with me since they were the first crew eliminated. A crew of males who liked to wear suits and bow ties, they didn’t bring anything original to the stage. Next..

Best performance of the night by far went to Street Kingdom. A crew of krumpers, it features Tight Eyez. Let me just say about Tight Eyez, I watched Rize when it came out, and he was the dancer who was the most memorable to me. I watched him kill it in the opening battle of “Stomp the Yard”, I even watched him on “The Buried Life” when he taught the guys how to krump. So to see him on this show is amazing. The judges kept calling him the creator of krump, I’m not sure if that’s entirely true, but he was definitely one of the originators. His crew of what looks like ten or twelve people, came out so hard. I actually said “WOAH!” when they started their routine. They moved all over the stage, and were so authentically krump, making the screw faces, and dancing like they were actually in a krump battle. It was incredible to see on the ABDC stage. Yeah krump is sort of old, Rize came out in 2005, but as D-Trix so perfectly put it, reality dance shows (SYTYCD..) have been trying to do krump but it never came across right. Now Tight Eyez is on ABDC to do it right. I can’t wait to see them continue to dance as the season goes on.

Overall, this was probably one of the strongest premiere episodes in a long time. Since it premiered in 2008, they’ve been pumping out seasons, and some of the crews in past seasons have been pretty wack. But this year break was great for the show because it seems like they found a great group of crews and it will be a season of strong dancing. And I love D-Trix on the judges panel. He’s the best third judge since Shane, he actually knows what he’s talking about.

I’m excited for this season! I didn’t realize how much I missed my ABDC! Which crews are y’all feeling?

2 Comments

Filed under Dance, Music, Television

2 responses to “America’s Best Dance Crew Season 6 Recap

  1. Shelby Licata

    Do you know what the song name is that they play the recap of the crew that lost. I think Rihanna sings it, but i dont know the name of it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

