I Used to Love Him

The first celebrity I had a major crush on was Justin Timberlake. I was nine years old, addicted to the Mickey Mouse Club and the cute little boy with the blonde curly hair and pretty singing voice. When ‘NSYNC came around, it took me a while to warm up to them, it wasn’t until the “Bye, Bye, Bye”, “It’s Gonna Be Me” days that I became a super fan, and my love for Justin continued. I bought both his solo albums the day they were released, learned every dance move, saw him on tour three times, defended him during the Super Bowl fiasco, stayed up late every time he’s hosted SNL, and generally been a stan for sixteen years.

Now that’s starting to change.

Last week, parts of an article he did for the July 2011 Vanity Fair was released. He talked about Britney, his breakup with Jessica Biel, how it feels to be 30, regular things. However, a few statements he made really annoyed me and it’s making me reconsider my love for Mr. JT.

Justin released his last solo album in 2006, it has been five years since he’s made any music. He’s done a few cameos on songs for other people, but I’m seriously missing his voice in music right now. Every time I see him on TV talking about some stupid new movie he’s in, it’s like shut up, get your ass in the studio and make another album! He put speculation of whether he’s going to be making music anytime soon to rest by saying:

“I wouldn’t say I’m not going to put out another [album]. I would say that would be a bad bet, if you were betting. But I could see myself only doing one more big tour”

My heart broke when I heard that. I’m not expecting him to get all ‘Justified’ on us and come back with a hands free microphone and do some major choreography (even though that would be nice) but I miss his voice. I miss watching him perform. I don’t want to see him in movies, or doing comedy sketches. I want to see him on stage, doing what made me fall in love with him in the first place.

Since he doesn’t want to make solo music anymore, a reunion with ‘NSYNC is also probably not very high on his to do list. Being someone who thinks ‘NSYNC was one of the best boy bands of all time, I would spare no expense to see them reunite. They would make tons of money, but Justin’s just too cool for the group that made him a star.

Now I’m thinking back on his career, looking at it as a twenty-five year old instead of a fifteen year old, and I’m wondering besides the pretty face and amazing music, why do I love this guy so much?

He threw Janet Jackson under the bus. When the incident happened, I was 17, they’re both my favorite artists, and I loved seeing them dance together.  I didn’t think it was a big deal. But I did notice that he didn’t get half as much heat as Janet, and he never really came to her defense. He talks about this in the article, saying:

“[In] hindsight, I probably should have been more pro-artist instead of a trying to please everyone,” he said.

” ‘The FCC is pissed — oh, man, what do we need to do?’ Today, I might have said, ‘Screw that.’ “

No, I should have stuck up for Janet, had her back. Instead, he’s thinking of how he would have stuck it to the man.

I will definitely read the full article when it comes out, but I doubt it will change my mind. Maybe what he said about his relationship with Britney is true, you fall in love with someone as a kid and then you grow up and see each other differently.

Maybe I’m seeing Justin as a person now, not as this perfect entertainer. Or maybe I’m just pissed cause he’s not doing what I want him to do. Who knows? What I do know is I will never go see one of his films in the theater, but I will buy any album he releases the day it comes out.

Think about that, Justin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

