Addiction

My life is now categorized as Before Punta Cana and After Punta Cana. Yeah, that trip really was that amazing. Been home for almost a month now, and I’ve realized something pretty startling.

I’m addicted to iced coffees.

Before Punta Cana, I’d have about two or three a week, not bad considering how I used to have four or five a week about a year ago. I thought I cut down a lot. I thought I had it under control. Every Friday I’d have one for sure, to congratulate myself for getting through the week still sane. Then I’d have another one on the weekend if I was at the mall, or in the middle of the week if I felt like a treat, and I’d always let myself have one when I was feeling sad. There’s nothing like the taste of an iced coffee to make me snap out of a bad funk. The only problem was the size of my belly. I work out a lot, hit the gym about four times a week, but this belly would not go away. I couldn’t figure out why.

Then I went to Punta Cana and lost about five pounds in a week. There were a lot of things that I didn’t eat while I was there, and iced coffees was the most obvious one. There was no Starbucks on the beach.

So now that I’m home, I’m determined not to have one. It was probably a big reason why I was continually fat, and I want to keep these pounds off. But I had no idea it would be so damn hard. I think about having an iced coffee every single day. My wallet is extra heavy from all the change I’m not using to buy a frappuccino. I work right beside a Starbucks and the smell of the delicious coffee drives me absolutely insane.

I’m an addict going through detox.

It’s been over a month now since I’ve had any kind of coffee. It has not gotten easier. Every day I think that I should just give in and drink one, but the guilt is too strong. My whole family is watching me, rooting for me to keep this up and stop all together. I know having an iced cap would taste so sweet, but the guilt afterwards would kill me. I even went so far to look up the calorie counts online to justify it to myself, and it didn’t work.

I’m accepting the fact that I’m an addict. I hope the craving for caffeine goes away before I break down and go to Starbucks.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Rant

One response to “Addiction

  1. Lorna

    Hang in there and continue to be strong. You can do it and think about your waist line! I believe in you!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

