July Favorites

I’ve seen a lot of blogs recap their favorite things at the end of the month and decided to give it a try.  Summer is never my favorite time of the year, but this one hasn’t been too bad so far, because there are a lot of books, shows and music that are keeping me well entertained. Here are my favorites for the month of July.

Beyonce’s “4” album – I haven’t bought a full Beyonce album since her first solo record “Dangerously in Love” in 2003. After reading the reviews of this album, that it’s strictly R&B, has a 90’s sound, and is a lot more mature than her other stuff, I decided to pick it up. I’m not lying when I say that have listened to the album from beginning to end every day since I bought it. There’s not one track I don’t like, and I love the R&B sound to it. There are awesome dance tracks and beautiful ballads, probably her strongest album so far. “4” is the album of my summer.

Les Twins – While we’re talking about Beyonce, if you’ve seen a live performance of “Run the World (Girls)”, you probably noticed the twins with the Afros dancing with her. I’m obsessed with them. They first came to my attention when I was randomly on Twitter one afternoon and Nigel Lythgoe tweeted something about two hip hop dancers on the audition rounds of SYTYCD stealing a routine by Les Twins. Intrigued, I looked it up on YouTube and found this video (stealing choreo like that is the lowest of the low!). I recognized the guys right away from dancing with Beyonce. I started looking up some other videos of them and for the next hour, I fell in love.

Falling in love with dancers is something I used to do in high school, but there’s something about Larry and Laurent that’s so captivating. It could be because of the Afro’s (my weakness), but mostly it’s how incredibly talented they are. When they dance it’s obvious that they love it so much. They move perfectly together, its like they can anticipate what move the other one is about to do. Watching them makes me excited about dance again, especially when hip hop has become so watered down recently with all the “lyrical hip hop” we’re seeing on SYTYCD this season. It’s nice to see it raw in Les Twins. They’re the future of dance, I really believe that. Check them out here, and here.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – I’m a Potter nerd, and so proud of it. My sister, cousins and myself have seen a majority of the movies together and have intense discussions afterwards. So leading up to the very last Potter movie ever, I reread the book in a week. I forgot how absolutely epic the book is. The movie did not disappoint either. It was exciting, intense, hard to watch at times, painfully sad, funny and satisfying. There were definitely tears when we walked out of the theater. It’s sad that the Potter series has officially ended, but it will never die. It has attracted all types of people, of all different ages. In the theater there were people in their late teens and 20’s like us, families, couples, and a little boy was beside me who looked like he was eleven with his mom. I’m not sure when there will be another series of books that will ever be as popular as Potter.

Game of Thrones – There is nothing better than losing myself in a good book, and that is exactly what happened when I started reading Game of Thrones. I’d seen all the advertisements about the HBO series, and heard good things about it, so on a whim I decided to read the first book. I’m not big on fantasy, so I wasn’t sure if I’d like it or not. It grabbed me within the first fifty pages. I could not put that book down, and that’s the BEST kind of reading experience. The show is incredible as well. I’m the kind of person who wants the show or movie to be exactly like the book, and Game of Thrones is probably one of the best adaptations of a book I’ve ever seen. There is nothing they’ve changed for the show, everything is exactly the same, dialogue coming word for word from the novel. I loved it. I’m now on the third book of the series and once again cannot stop reading. It’s the best feeling.

Junot Diaz – I read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao when it was in hardcover in 2008 and fell in love with it. Since I’ve been home from my vacation (that I’ve talked about WAY too much), I’ve kind of been obsessed with everything Dominican. I picked up Oscar again and realized that it is my favorite novel OF ALL TIME. It’s about Oscar de Leon, an overweight, socially awkward, super nerd, who just wants to meet a girl and fall in love. I can relate to him so much. He seems so real that I can see him as I read. I would love for it to become a movie, but I doubt it would ever happen. Now I’m reading Diaz’s collection of short stories Drown. It’s making me want to step my writing game up. Junot Diaz is my writing hero.

So that’s it, the music, books, TV shows and French dancers that are occupying my time this month. Yes, it’s true, I have no life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Dance, Music, Television

Leave a Reply

