Born to Dance

Dance shows this summer have been lacking. So You Think You Can Dance U.S has been a disappointment. The routines this season have been so lackluster. I’m so sick of seeing the same choreographers over and over and over. There must be tons of famous choreographers who would spice things up on the show, but it’s the same people every week. Especially with hip hop. It’s become so watered down. “Lyrical” hip hop dominated this season, and it was all terrible (minus the routine with Sasha and Twitch). I don’t know what happened to the hard hitting, Dave Scott and Shane Sparks routines, but that’s real hip hop, and I miss it.

But a new dance show premiered this week that I think will keep me entertained for the rest of the summer. “Born to Dance” on BET focuses on Lady Gaga’s choreographer, Laurie Ann Gibson, looking for the next great female dancer. Anything with Laurie Ann on it, I will tune in. I love her crazy ass, and I’m proud of her. She’s from my hometown (you’d never guess by her accent) and she’s been in business for a long, long time. I think the first time I was introduced to her was the Jessica Alba movie “Honey” where she played the bad girl and choreographed the whole thing. Then she was on Making the Band 3 and 4, whipping Danity Kane and Day26 in to shape. I love how passionate she is about dance, all the crazy things she says and that she’s not afraid to scream in your face if you’re not getting the steps. She’s entertaining TV.

The first episode documented auditions in New York, Atlanta, and LA, looking for female dancers. Since I was a kid, I’ve always loved watching dance auditions on TV. I watch it like I’m picking the dancers. I talked to the TV, pointing out girls who weren’t picking up the combination fast enough. That wannabe dancer in me will never go away.

Yeah, the show was  a bit dramatic, with girls crying saying how bad they want to win the competition, Laurie Ann was crying barely five minutes in to the show. I bet it was all a performance, because when you’ve been in the business for as long as she has, cutting some girls from an audition would not be enough to make you cry.

It was an enjoyable first episode, whether the show will continue to keep my interest remains to be seen. I was totally going to watch Laurie Ann’s reality show “The Dance Scene” on E! and it just never happened.

Born to Dance airs on BET Tuesdays at 10pm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dance, Television

Leave a Reply

