Technology Slump

Just this week it became so apparent to me that all of the electronic things that I own and use everyday are so out of date. I’m so behind the times and it’s frustrating because really, my electronics are not that old.

It first hit me this weekend when I thought the connector to plug my iPod in to my car was busted. The radio station I usually used wasn’t playing my music so I decided to look at some new ones and possibly buy a new one. The cheapest ones in the store were just two cables you could plug in to the AUX jack of your car and play your iPod directly from the speakers. I looked all over my car, convinced I had to have one, I have a 2006 Toyota, but no AUX jack. Only newer cars have it. How frustrating! So to solve my technology problem, yesterday I sat in the car with my iPod connected, slowly checking each radio station until I found one that worked. My five year old car was too old for a good iPod connector.

That’s not the only problem. The basement in my house is equipped like it’s 2000. We still have a VHS player, and mountains and mountains of VHS tapes (they’re my treasures, I refuse to throw them away). We do have a DVD player, but it’s about eight years old. No flat screen TV, but a huge boxy one that I hate. My mother refuses to buy a PVR. The thought of being able to tape shows without using a tape blows my mind. Just this morning I was watching some commercial advertising a PVR, they said you could tape a show on one TV and watch it on another in a different room. I was like WOW! It’s so sad.

My laptop is about four years old, and still working pretty well (knock on wood), but I’m not ruling out the fact that it could die on me at any moment. I’m going to start the process of backing up over 1000 pictures on an external hard drive.

It’s insane how fast technology moves. If something is 2-3 years old, it’s almost obsolete. My camera broke while I was in Punta Cana, I took it in to possibly get it fixed and they didn’t even make the parts for it any more. I got that camera in 2007. The technology moves so fast, it’s impossible to keep up and stay current. My iPod Touch is just over a year old, and it’s considered 3rd generation. If I want a case for it, I have to get it online cause they don’t even have it in the stores.

I guess I’ve come to terms with all of my old electronics, but I’m still working on that PVR. Either I break my mom down to get one, or I’m moving out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Rant

Leave a Reply

