Tia and Tamera

There are a lot of black reality shows that air in the States that we don’t get here in Canada. Blogs talk so much about “Basketball Wives” and countless other shows and how the women fight each other. I have no interest in watching it. But when I realized the first episode of the Style Networks (we don’t get that channel here) new reality show “Tia and Tamera” aired last Monday, I frantically searched the internet until I found it. It was so freakin’ enjoyable to watch because I LOVE Tia and Tamera.

I was a child in the 90’s, so I watched and loved “Sister, Sister.” I’m pretty sure I still have full seasons on VHS. Tia and Tamera wore the coolest clothes, had the most awesome adventures, their hair was always on point and they dated the CUTEST boys ever. Ray was the coolest dad (my Mom used to say she had a crush on him), and Lisa constantly cracked me up. “Sister, Sister” was a show that actually got better when it followed the girls to college. There were breakups, cheating on tests, Ray ran for state senate, Tamera was Lady T on the radio, and the girls found their biological dad. I learned so much about fraternities and sororities watching the episode where Jordan pledged. Cried my eyes out on the series finale where Lisa gets married. Though the show never tackled serious teen issues like “Moesha” did, it was still about teen life, but in a fairy tale type way. I mean, Tia and Tamera didn’t kiss their on screen boyfriends on the lips until the last season (and when they did I remember being shocked).  I knew the girls would never be slipped roofies, go to the clinic to get birth control pills or make out with a teacher like Moesha did, and that was okay. They were good girls, who got in to situations that could be neatly wrapped up in half an hour.

Tia and Tamera were squeaky clean, good role models. I wanted to be super smart like Tia, and still be popular and boy crazy like Tamera. I wanted to be an actress and have a show just like theirs. I was obsessed with them. Once the show ended, they sort of fell off my radar. I looked at the pictures of Tia’s wedding, and would Google them from time to time. Once Twitter came in to my world, I started to follow both of them and now with the reality show, super fans like me can be totally immersed in their lives.

The show follows the girls as they prepare for big changes in their lives, Tia is expecting her first child and Tamera is getting married. The first episode showed the struggles they have with balancing their own lives and still trying to spend time together. I’m so happy that both of them have been able to have such great lives. They both seem to be with men who love them, they’ve never had any scandals and they seem so positive. Years later, I still want to be just like them.

I do not understand how they both look so young. They don’t look like they’ve aged at all. It was sweet to see Tia and her husband joking with each other, and interesting watching Tamera and her white fiance talk about society calling them a mixed race couple and saying offensive things. I think it’s so crazy because Tia and Tamera are biracial girls. Tia’s married to a black man, and now Tamera’s married to a white man. It’s perfectly symmetrical! But it’s sad that Tamera and her man have to experience hate like that in 2011. Love is love, people!

With so many reality shows representing black women in a stereotypical, negative way, it’s so nice to watch “Tia and Tamera” and see two child stars who didn’t end up crazy.

“Tia and Tamera” airs Mondays at 9pm on Style for Americans. Whatever website you could find it on for Canadians.

3 Comments

Filed under Television

3 responses to “Tia and Tamera

  1. Ahh I loved them too!! Now you are making me want to watch all the episodes again. I always wished my hair was like theirs. Im generally not a fan of reality tv but I might check this out!

  2. eternally21

    hi,
    great blog! do you know where I can watch their first pilot episode online?

  3. mandawhite

    This is where I watched the first 2 episodes. Hopefully it will work for you. http://www.tv-links.eu/tv-shows/Tia–and–Tamera_26724/season_1/episode_1/

Leave a Reply

