September Favorites

September has been a pretty dope month for me, and this blog. I got to see Chris Brown and Miguel live in concert, and my posts reviewing the shows were really popular and I got great feedback. Besides going to concerts, there were some other things that kept me very entertained this month.

Community – I was bored at home one afternoon and started watching this sitcom because I love Joel McHale. I watched both seasons in less than two weeks, officially becoming a Community super fan. Most sitcoms on TV right now do not interest me at all, but Community is smart, very funny, with talented actors and a lot of diversity in the cast. I can’t believe I missed out on this show for two years, but I’m just in time to watch season three Thursday nights on NBC. The premise is simple, seven misfits at a community college form a study group to pass Spanish class. They end up becoming best friends and have many crazy adventures together. Donald Glover is my new celebrity crush. My favorite episode by far is the Halloween episode in season two. If you want to get a feel for what the show is like, watch that one and you’ll know.

Sugar – I watched bits of this movie on the movie network, thought it was interesting and would flip it off. Then I went to Punta Cana. Sugar is about a Dominican baseball player’s journey from the Dominican Republic to America to play professional baseball. The majority of the movie is in Spanish with subtitles. After being in the Dominican Republic, this movie became so much fun to watch. Listening to the actors speak Spanish, seeing how they dance and the beautiful shots of the island make me remember my vacation and all the people I met. I bought the DVD a few weeks ago and can’t stop watching it.

How to Make it in America – I’m not sure if I’ve blogged about how much I LOVE this show, but after season two premieres this Sunday on HBO, I might do a post on it. The season one DVD was released this week and I picked it up on the day it came out. This show entertains me, makes me laugh and has very hot guys but most of all it inspires me. It focuses on Ben and Cam, two New Yorker’s who live on the Lower East Side who want to do something with their lives. Watching that show makes me want to go back to New York, write about New York, imagine myself in New York. That is a city that never fails to inspire me. The show is funny and smart and hip. Now that True Blood is over, it’s another reason to turn on HBO.

J.Cole album – I’m a huge J.Cole fan, not just because he’s adorable, but I think he’s a very talented rapper, who actually has something to say. “Friday Night Lights” still goes hard, and I always said I’d buy his album when it came out. I’ve been listening to it non stop since then. So far, it’s my favorite hip hop album of the year, definitely stronger than “Watch the Throne”. My favorite tracks are “Nobody’s Perfect” with Missy, “Cole World”, “Can’t Get Enough” and “Mr. Nice Watch” with Jay-Z. It looks like he’s on track for having the number one album next week in the U.S.

“Half Blood Blues” – This novel by Esi Edugyan caught my attention because it is short listed for the Man Booker Prize. I picked it up, not knowing what to expect because I’m a little picky when it comes to literary fiction, either I love it or hate it. I absolutely loved this book. Centering around a group of black jazz musicians in Germany during World War II. It was beautifully written and pulled me in from the beginning. I’d definitely recommend it.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Movies, Music, Personal, Television

Leave a Reply

