Michael Jackson Immortal Tour… And Les Twins

When my sister and I watched the Cirque Du Soleil: Michael Jackson Immortal World Tour last night, I figured I was probably the only person in the audience who was there just to see Les Twins. I’ve talked about these twin dancers from France on the blog before. I’ve watched countless YouTube videos featuring them dance, taped Beyonce’s BET Awards performance because they were in it, so knowing that when the Michael Jackson Immortal tour came to Toronto, I’d get to see them live, I bought a ticket. Not only did I get to see an incredible show, I got to meet Larry and Laurent.

This was my very first Cirque show. I’d heard from so many people who have seen other shows that I would be blown away. I knew to expect lots of dancing and acrobats and gymnastics, but I didn’t expect that I’d have so much fun as well. The whole energy of the show was completely different from what I’m used to. The crowd was a mix of people, and they were there to see a show, not party like I did at the Chris Brown concert. So I stayed in my seat for the whole show and was expected to clap politely and sit still. But it was impossible when every single Michael Jackson hit is blasting at super loud levels and the dancers on the stage are dancing like crazy. I was the girl bouncing in my seat, squealing and clapping way too loud.

The two and a half hour show probably had some sort of complicated storyline, but I didn’t really follow it. There was a figure in all white, who I think represented Michael. He would show up from time to time, there was a point when a dancer in a monkey suit, probably representing Bubbles the chimp, appeared and they were best friends. There were also a group of five guys (two of which were Les Twins) who seemed to be Michael fans and performed some Jackson Five songs. The story didn’t really matter to me. It was about the music and dance.

I don’t want to give too much away, but there were so many moments I caught myself watching the show with my mouth hanging open. There were so many things going on, so many places to look to make sure you didn’t miss anything. There were people suspended in the air, a pole dancer who could split her legs in crazy formations, a live band and background singers, and even a dancer who had one leg and used crutches. Some parts of the show were breathtakingly beautiful, other parts were sad, but it was all about Michael. There were audio clips of his voice, images of him as a child, singing with his brothers, and moments where he was singing with no music in the background, reminding me what an amazing voice he had.

It was the same songs everyone has heard a million times, but they were remixed, giving them a new feel. There were elements of the show that were taken from ‘This is It’ like the footage from ‘Earth Song’ and ‘They Don’t Care About Us.’ All of the iconic choreography remained the same, and I could definitely appreciate that. Laurent from Les Twins had a solo during ‘Beat It’ that almost had me jump out of my seat. It was amazing to see those guys dance live. At some points it felt like I was watching a dance show instead of a circus. Dance was the major element of this show and rightfully so since Michael was all about dance.

During the spectacular finale, I looked around at the sold out crowd and realized that even though Michael is physically gone, he will never be forgotten. His music, dance and legacy will live on forever. Definitely check out this show when it comes to a city near you.

So after the show, my sister and I started walking to the subway, but she knew that I wanted to try to meet Les Twins. Twice before, after concerts, we’ve waited around after the show and were able to meet dancers. She figured it wouldn’t hurt to try, especially since we had no idea when we’d ever get the chance to meet them again. So we walked back, found the busses and waited.

It paid off, because they came out and we got to talk to them. I must say they were so incredibly NICE. They talked to us like we were old friends and seemed genuinely humbled when I told them that I came to the show just to see them. They told us about dancing for Beyonce, what they thought about Canada and how long they’re going to be doing the show. Walking away, my sister and I were freaking out, but because they guys were so chill and extremely friendly, it didn’t feel like we met celebrities.

It was an amazing night. I hoped I’d get to meet Les Twins, but I didn’t want to get my hopes up. Thanks to my wonderful sister, I can say I met them. Good things happen if you believe!

8 Comments

Filed under Dance, Music, Personal

8 responses to “Michael Jackson Immortal Tour… And Les Twins

  1. N

    Nice recap, the show was amazing! Even our cheap seats proved to be excellent. It was definitely worth the wait to meet Les Twins. You got a Twin Sandwich!

  2. AHH MANDY THATS AMAZING!!! IM SUPER HAPPY FOR YOU!! IM GOIN COME FEBRUARY SO I CAN SEE AND HOPE TO MEET LARRY AND LAURENT ALSO!!! IM PRETTY EXCITED I HOPE I CAN LINGER AROUND N THA FREEZING COLD LONG ENUFF SO I GET TO MEET AND TAKE PIX WITH THEM!!!! ITS A FOUR TO FIVE HOUR TRIP FROM HOME PROBABLY WAY LONGER BECAUSE OF SNOW BUT IT WILL DEFF B WORTH IT JUST TO SAY I GOT TO SEE THEM! BUT DEFF HOME TO MEET AND TAKE A PIC!!!!!

  3. smelly

    My God just when you think you cant love LT any more….. You get to hear stories like this! Thank you for sharing your wonderful expercience !!!! Are they gonna come to Europe? Did they tell you that? Pls share this info bc the European fans R dying to know. Merci bien ❤ One Love.

  4. Ebonee Hunt

    I know this old but do you think they are stil performing with cirque du soleil?!?!?! I really wanna meet them and I might be going this summer!!!!!!!!

  5. DeDeefifi

    Yes, but that’s because Cirque was stopped for a couple weeks, so they may be back on touring when it starts up again in June. Any one know?

  6. Ebonee Hunt

    Aww my heart just broke a little.:( *sigh* Ohhh well.thanks anyway.

  7. Manon

    Oww my god!! I am delighted to go in November!! And do you know if Les Twins are involved in all the shows? Or just in some of them?? (Sorry for my english, I’m french) 😉

Leave a Reply

