How To Make It… So Far

The second season of How to Make it In America is halfway over. Hard to believe since season two just started at the beginning of October, but there’s only eight episodes in the season and this Sunday’s episode was number four. I was loving season two so far, I thought it was funnier, sharper and I enjoyed the character development, but this week’s episode was a disappointment for me because I think I’m getting a bit too obsessed with this show.

One of my complaints about this new season is that it’s too plot driven. Last season, episodes were more character driven. My favorite episode from season one was Rachel’s birthday and the boys took Kappo to Avenue. Nothing plot wise happened in that episode, it was just about this super cool crew hanging out. This season, it’s all about the various plots. Ben and Cam trying to get Crisp off the ground, Cam trying to get with Lulu, Domingo and Rachel’s new romance, Rene trying to hype up Rasta Monsta and now Kappo dealing with the law. There’s a lot packed in to thirty minutes now.

The storyline that I’m enjoying the most is Rene’s. Rasta Monsta was one of the biggest storylines in season one, and now that Ben and Cam are doing other things, it’s just Rene and his team. I love his new girlfriend, Debbie,  who brings out a different side to him. It will be interesting to see what happens to him, now that he’s leaning more towards the criminal side. I also really like Rachel and Domingo together. It’s a weird couple, they bonded over weed, but I like them together. Rachel is stressed out and Domingo is chill. It works. But this week Ben found out and he was not happy about it.

I have to say, Ben has become such a douchebag this season. I used to love him, and now he’s so… arrogant. He acts like he’s the main guy behind Crisp and just seems to be feeling himself a little too much. Same with Cam, who is trying so damn hard to get with Lulu. Who is this Lulu chick and why does he like her so much? I mean, it’s cute to see him flirt and try to come up to win this girl but who is she? Where did she come from? How does she know the whole crew? Maybe I’m hating on the girl because I love Cam, but I don’t see the chemistry between them.

Like I said before, I think I’m way too in to this show. I need to take a step back and realize it’s just a show, they’re not real people and it may not last beyond this season. There are still four more episodes to go, and considering that out of the first four, I only didn’t like one episode, it’s still my favorite show. I just need to tone down my obsession.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rant, Television

Leave a Reply

