October Favorites

Only two more months and 2011 will be just a memory. I can’t wait for this year to be over. I’m ready for big changes and new adventures in 2012 (even if the world ends.) Until then, here are some of the things that kept me happy this month.

Oprah’s life class – Her show ended in May and already Oprah is back on TV everyday, now with her Life Class. It’s a one hour show, on her network OWN, where she just talks to the audience about a lesson she’s learned while hosting the Oprah Winfrey Show for twenty-five years. It’s simple things she talks about, learning to forgive, believing in yourself, letting go of past anger, but it’s things that people, especially me, need to be reminded of. Since watching the show and the webcasts online, I’ve noticed a change in my attitude. I’m more positive, I don’t let things bother me as much, I look forward to the future and things to come. This time last month, I was thinking only negative things, feeling really down about my life. I don’t tune in to Oprah’s show every night, but when I do, it instantly makes me feel better and makes me think.

Island Beneath the Sea – This historical fiction novel by Isabelle Allende grabbed me from the start and did not let go. It focuses on Tete, a biracial slave who lives in Haiti during the battle for its independence. I didn’t know much about Haiti’s history, and this book gave me a lot of great information. I love reading about slavery, and this book focused on slavery in the Caribbean which is something I wasn’t too familiar with. I’m not a huge historical fiction fan, but this novel was epic.

Community timeline episode – I’ve been seeing a lot of tweets lately saying that Community has fallen off in the third season. I would have to disagree based on the episode that aired a few weeks ago where the study group visited Troy and Abed’s new apartment. Six different timelines played out depending on which study group member when downstairs to get the pizza. It sounds complicated and weird, but it was brilliant and super funny. It’s still one of my favorite shows on TV.

Zumba – I think a good Zumba class depends on your instructor. I’m very particular about the kind of Zumba I like. I like a class that’s focused on Latin movement and music, I want to salsa, not do the running man. My gym added a new Zumba class and I’m back to being addicted. The instructor is amazing and the music is so good. I even went through a short phase where I was convinced I’d be the best Zumba instructor in the city. That phase has thankfully passed. It’s fun to brush up on my Latin dancing for when I go back to Punta Cana next summer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Favorites, Television

Leave a Reply

