2011: In Review

I must say, I enjoyed my 25th year on this earth. I think I lived it up. I had new experiences and got to travel to places I’ve never been before. I feel like I’m a better person. 2012 is going to be even better. I know that for sure.

This was also the most successful year for this little blog of mine. From writing reviews of popular concerts from artists like Chris Brown, Janet Jackson and Jay-Z and Kanye, wondering why Britney can’t dance anymore and meeting Les Twins, I got more love and more hits than ever before.

I went through a lot personally. I went through a screwed up relationship, met amazing people on vacation and got a new job that toughened me up. I learned a lot and will take it with me in to 2012, because there are huge changes on deck for the new year. I’m definitely ready for new challenges, but I’m scared to death.

Music was kind of a disappointment. For the first time in my life, I couldn’t bare to listen to the radio in the car. This trend of house music as pop music annoys the hell out of me. R&B seems like it’s dead. I probably listened to more old school Toni Braxton and Bobby Brown than anything new. My favorite album hands down was 4 by Beyonce. It’s classic, I’ll probably be playing it for the rest of my life. I loved Frank Ocean’s nostalgia/ultra mixtape. I’m proud to say I was a Frank Ocean fan before Watch The Throne came out. I became a huge Childish Gambino fan, thanks to becoming obsessed with Community. After finally seeing him live, I know that I will always and forever love Chris Brown. If I had to choose my favorite song of the year, it would probably be “Promise” by Romeo Santos and Usher. I was starting to think that Usher was losing it and getting old. But it was really adventerous of him to do a Bachata song and get back to his soulful roots. Romeo Santos is my crush of 2011. That brotha is just…

Every show that I really loved this year is either cancelled or in jeopardy. Community has been put on hiatus until the summer. Fringe ratings have been dropping and after years and years, All My Children aired it’s last episode. How To Make It In America, after having it’s best season ever, has been cancelled. I won’t say anything else about that. It still hurts.

When I came home from Punta Cana, I read a lot of fiction about both sides of the island of Hispaniola and learned a lot. As usual I always had a book on the go, and I read a lot of interesting stuff that’s outside of what I normally read. I just hope I can keep that up in 2012.

I can’t say anything bad about 2011. I’m healthy, everyone I love is healthy. I went through disappointments and struggles and came out stronger. That’s all I can ask for.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorites, Personal

Leave a Reply

