That Feeling….

I’ve been in school for about a month. It’s been such a huge adjustment. I’ve literally gone from doing nothing, to having to manage my time to make sure I get everything done. But besides the school work, I’ve started a new story and I cannot stop writing.

Before school started I was working on two novels I’ve been working on for a while, probably over a year. I finished the rough drafts of both of them. Once that was done, I had that empty feeling I always get when I don’t have a story on the go. One night a few weeks ago, an opening line popped in my head (which is kind of how I start all my books) and I jotted a few things down. Now I’m in the thick of it, getting to know these new characters and finding out about them.

It is the BEST feeling. I’m writing and my mind is racing, trying to figure out what’s going to happen, why these characters are at this point in their lives and getting ideas of where I want them to go. When I’m not writing, I’m thinking about them, imagining the next scene in my head. I just want to dump all my ideas on to the page.

I’m working on another teen story. I really liked my first one (even though it needs a lot of work) so I wanted to try again. It’s in third person, about two teens who go to a performing arts school and how they fall in love. I’m very early in, but I really like my characters. If I don’t, I usually don’t finish the story.

Recently, I read “On Writing” by Stephen King, a book that I’ve been meaning to pick up for a while. I absolutely loved it because we write in the exact same way. King says don’t worry about plot, or outline every little detail of your story, focus on the characters and just write. He says he writes a rough draft in about a month, because he gets to the point where he can’t stop writing and needs to get everything down quickly. I do the same thing. I’ll never forget when I wrote my favourite novel with my favourite characters, I was in a state and finished that rough draft in 2 months.

Not saying that I write as good as Stephen King, but it freaked me out that pretty much all his suggestions about fiction, I’ve done naturally. I write like a maniac, my stories are character driven and once I finish my first draft, then I go back and change things around.

This is not a good state to be in when I should be focusing on school. And I am focusing on school! But since I was 10 years old, I’ve focused on school and had a story on the side to work on in my free time. It’s what feels right.

Sometimes this passion feels like a curse.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Writing

One response to “That Feeling….

  1. Lorna

    Keep writing Amanda! Your passion for writing is so inspiring. You are so lucky that you discovered it becasue alot of people are approaching 60 and still don’t have a real passion. Good luck with all your stories!

Leave a Reply

