BET Awards 2012 Review

Another BET Awards has passed. It was fun to live tweet, but the show didn’t blow me away this year. It had its moments that will be remembered, but besides that it was pretty forgettable. Here are some highs and lows.

Highs:

Whitney Houston tribute– Only BET could pull it off. Mariah Carey speaking about her relationship with Whitney. Monica singing her ass off to a gospel song. Brandy doing some of Whitney’s upbeat songs and lipsyncing? I called it right away and I’m pretty sure I was right. Monica sang so beautifully and Brandy came out and used tracks? Hmm. Then Whitney’s brother and mother sang. Cissy Houston sounded amazing. There was not a dry eye in the crowd or on Twitter. It was very moving. Chaka Khan finished off singing “I’m Every Woman.” It was a great tribute to Whitney.

Opening performance – Kanye and his GOOD music crew opened the show with a performance of “Mercy.” Any time Kanye hits the stage, it’s memorable and this time he ended the performance with an acapella freestyle. I wasn’t paying too much attention to what he was saying because I was trying to figure out if he was freestyling or not.

Usher’s performance – This was the first time I heard him sing “Climax” live. I didn’t think he could do it, but he proved me wrong. I will always love R&B Usher.

Nicki Minaj performance – Nicki has always done too much for her award show performances. This time, she kept it simple and just rapped. No lipsyncing, or crazy costumes or skits. It was a straight up hip hop performance. It was a really good look for her.

Frankie Beverly and Maze tribute – I love when the BET Awards go old school. I don’t know too much about Frankie Beverly and Maze, but I was watching this part of the show with my mom and she was grooving, the audience was grooving so I did too. It was also nice to see Joe, Tyrese and Faith Evans perform.

The front row – Solange, Beyonce, Jay-Z, Kanye and Kim Kardashian. Every single time they showed them I laughed, either at how Beyonce and Solange were dancing and singing along with the performances or how incredibly awkward Kanye and Kim looked. He seemed to ignore her the whole night. It was so much fun to watch.

Lows:

Samuel L. Jackson as host – That opening skit with him singing “Paris” with Spike Lee was painful. Then for the rest of the show he introduced presenters and performers with no energy. I would love to see a female host the show next year.

Chris Brown’s performance – I love my Breezy, but I have seen him perform “Turn Up the Music” so many times. Every performance is the same. Nothing is new or exciting. He needs to change it up. Quick.

D’Angelo’s comeback – I was a kid when D’Angelo was in his prime. I was never a huge fan, but it was pretty amazing to hear him sing “Untitled” all these years later. Then he went in to some long, strange sounding song that was a little confusing. He still looks a little rough around the edges too. Hopefully he can become successful again, but that performance didn’t wow me.

Well, laying it all out like this I guess there were more highs than lows last night. It was a long show that seemed to drag. Thanks to Twitter, I got a lot of jokes out of it.

Any favourite moments?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Television

Leave a Reply

