Step Up 4 – Revolution

No one wanted to go see Step Up Revolution with me. I blame Step Up 3D. In my review last year, I called it the weakest of all the Step Up films. It was a major disappointment. Sitting in the theatre to watch Step Up Revolution I just prayed it didn’t suck so my sister, who I dragged along with me, wouldn’t complain.

It didn’t suck.

Besides Step Up 2: The Streets (one of my favourite dance movies of all time) this was the next best one in the franchise. Strong dancing, a storyline that made sense and good music. That’s all I need to enjoy a dance movie.

Set in Miami, it follows Sean, played by Ryan Guzman, and his friends who are part of a dance flash mob. He meets Emily, played by So You Think You Can Dance season 6 finalist Kathryn McCormick, who is a contemporary dancer who dreams of becoming a professional. Together, they use the dance flash mob to protest the demolition of Sean’s neighbourhood by an evil land developer – who happens to be Emily’s father.

There were elements of the story that I could see coming from a mile away. The acting was very weak. There was one point in the movie that Emily calls Sean “John” and no one caught it. There wasn’t any chemistry between the two main characters, but they’re both nice to look at and Kathryn is an incredible dancer.

Did it have to be in 3D? No.

Dancing is always what saves these movies. I really enjoyed all the dance scenes. I liked the idea of the flash mobs. Some of them were cool and inventive and others were a little far-fetched. The best flash mob scene was the one in the office building. However, the song choice was a little controversial to me being a Les Twins fan. They danced to a song called Ants by the group Edit. It’s a great dance song because Les Twins danced to it first. It’s the kind of song you hear and think of Les Twins. It would have been great to bring them out at that point in the movie and watch them dance to a song that is pretty much their own.

There were a lot of familiar faces in the movie, like Twitch, Philip Chbeeb, Celestina and Mia Michaels. I liked that they brought back the contemporary aspect of dance. Travis Wall killed the choreography for those sections. And that final dance? Almost as good as the one in Step Up 2. Bringing out familiar faces always makes me lose it.

I enjoyed this movie a lot. As with every dance movie, no matter how bad the storyline or the acting is, inspires me and makes me admire dancers. Especially watching Twitch. I’m so proud of him for living the dream. Being in a movie like this is every dancers dream.

If the Step Up franchise ends here, I’ll be okay with it. They ended on a high note.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dance, Movies

Leave a Reply

