Childish Gambino Concert Review

I almost didn’t go see Childish Gambino last night.

I’ve been feeling down lately. I had two tickets to the show and could not find anyone who wanted to come with me. This is always a problem I have. I buy two tickets for shows, thinking I can find someone to come with and I never do. Since I was feeling so low, I thought why am I going to go to this show, that’s in an outdoor venue on a beach, alone? I could curl up on the couch and write my book.

Literally at the last minute, I decided what the hell? If I didn’t go, not only would I be throwing $100 bucks down the drain, I’d probably regret it later because I’m a huge Gambino fan.

One thing I’m not afraid of is being alone.

But I’ll admit it was a bit unsettling being a female alone when the majority of the crowd were drunk, screaming, young males. It was definitely a different crowd than I’m used to for a hip hop show.

Childish Gambino hit the stage right at 9 p.m. I love when an act is prompt. He opened with “Outside” and from the beginning he had so much energy. He was running from one side of the stage to another, jumping up and down, dancing, waving his arms in the air, all while rapping every single word to his songs without a hype man. I kept thinking Chris Brown should take notes. Gambino is in shape.

He was accompanied by a full band, along with a jumbotron that would occasionally flash song lyrics. Gambino did songs from all of his mixtapes from Cul de Sac to Royalty and a lot of tracks from his album “Camp.”

One of my favourite parts of the night was when he performed “Freaks and Geeks.” That was the first song that really got me in to Gambino’s music. To see him perform it live surrounded by hundreds of people who knew every single line was amazing. I rapped as much as I knew, feeling like a boss.

Not only did Gambino rap, he sang too. My favourite song from “Camp”, “All The Shine” has a lot of singing in it. He sang every part, even if he did go off-key a few times. I liked how he was able to go from an angry rapper, to a vulnerable singer from one song to the next.

He sounded exactly like the records, at times even better. I found on more than one occasion understanding a line from a song I’ve listened to tons of times on my iPod. He sounded that good. After about an hour of being on the stage, he did his last song (totally don’t remember which song it was) and said goodnight to the crowd. Shouts of “Encore!” and “Gambino!” brought him back out for a half an hour encore where he did tracks off his new mixtape “Royalty” and did a freestyle.

At that point I was slowly making my way to the back of the crowd, partly because I couldn’t see (the only time I hate being short is standing only concerts) and because I knew it was almost over and I wanted to beat the rush to the parking lot.

It was an underwhelming encore because not many people know the “Royalty” songs well enough to sing along. At least I didn’t. But right before Gambino left the stage, he ripped his shirt off and thanked the crowd.

That alone was worth going to the show.

But really, I had fun. It would have been better if I was there with a guy, or some girlfriends who like his music as much as me, but it was still a good time. For two hours it lifted my spirits a bit. That’s always what concerts do to me. They make me feel like everything is going to be okay.

With hip-hop in a slump these days, Gambino is definitely keeping things interesting and new. I’ll be a fan for a while.

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “Childish Gambino Concert Review

  1. Lorna

    Sounds like a fun time and worth attending! Nice review Amanda.

Leave a Reply

