Life Updates

At the end of this week, I’ll be finished school. I was so worried about going back after vowing I’d never ever go back to school. It turned out to be a pretty good experience. I met some amazing people, dealt with some hard challenges and came out stronger. There were moments I was literally on my kitchen floor crying, close to dropping out. But I stuck with it and hopefully I’ll have the experience and the education to get myself a real job that I enjoy.

I’ve been writing like crazy. It feels amazing. I’ve created a small challenge of finishing a novel in 8 weeks. I have three days left, I’m at 100 pages and almost 60, 000 words. I don’t think I’m going to be able to do it though. I’m near the end, but there are a few loose ends I have to wrap up before I can finish it. It’s another teen novel. I’m so proud of it. I love my main character, I love the boys in the book and its funny. Teen novels might be my new thing now. I’ve also started posting my fiction on another  blog. It’s an experiment, just to see what kind of feedback I get. So far I’ve gotten ZERO feedback, so we’ll see how it goes.

I’ve read some amazing books this summer. “Cutting for Stone”, “Silver Sparrow”, “In Darkness”, “Manchild in the Promised Land” and I re read both of Junot Diaz’s novels. When going through hard times, nothing makes me feel better than good fiction. I’m picking up “This is How You Lose Her” tonight. I’m dying to sink my teeth in to that book.

In November I am going back to NYC! It doesn’t even feel real yet. I’m going to be there for six days. Six days! The longest I’ve ever been there. I plan to do a lot of sightseeing, listen to some poetry, experience the nightlife and hopefully make some friends which would give me an excuse to go back soon. I haven’t been there in two years. I can’t wait to be in the city of my dreams again.

Now that school is over, I’m at a crossroads. I can throw myself in to finding a full-time job right away. Or I can stay at my shitty part-time job, keep making steady money and travel to NYC in November and possibly go to Europe in January. Going to Europe is a dream. I feel like I want to get that out of the way before I find a full-time job and am forced to become an adult.

Being in your 20’s is rough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

