What I’m here for in 2013

I’ve been gone for a while. Life has been tough. The media has been uninspiring. Music has been blah. But three weeks in to 2013, it looks like things will change.

Here’s what I’m here for in 2013.

New Justin Timberlake and Beyonce albums – Being a 90’s child, these are the idols. Both of them are releasing albums this year and what makes me the most excited about it is they’re keeping true to themselves and not hopping on the dance music bandwagon.

Beyonce said to GQ magazine:

“I’ve been working with Pharrell and Timbaland and Justin Timberlake and Dream. We all started in the ’90s, when R&B was the most important genre, and we all kind of want that back: the feeling that music gave us.”

Hearing that made me love her even more. I loved Beyonce’s last album, more than any of her other albums. It wasn’t as successful as her previous albums because it was strictly R&B. There are rumors her first single is called “Ratchet” with Lady Gaga. If that’s true, all I hope for is an amazing dance video like “Telephone.” With the Super Bowl performance, the album and the HBO documentary, Beyonce is about to take over 2013 and I’m ready.
Justin Timberlake hasn’t released an album in seven years. I was starting to give up on him and hate him for focusing on crappy movies instead of music. Then I heard the single and now I’m a JT stan again. Suit and Tie picks up right where FutureSex/LoveSounds left off. Screw the trends in pop music, JT kept it R&B and did what he does best. The reviews of the single were mixed, but according to Rolling Stone, Suit and Tie is projected to sell more copies then SexyBack. I can’t wait until his album, until he starts releasing videos. I’m excited for two of my favourite artists to come back hard this year.
Washington Heights on MTV – I’m a sucker for shows about young people of colour in New York City trying to achieve their artistic dreams. It’s like the books I write. As soon as I heard this show was in production. I knew I was going to watch it. I just didn’t think I’d love it so much.
It follows a group of friends living in the Heights following their drama with relationships and friendships. With reality shows, there’s always the question of if it’s real or not, but with this show, I don’t care. The boys are good looking, the girls are smart and I absolutely love the New York accents.
Whenever I watch it, all I want to do is write, which is a good thing.
Scandal – Best show on TV, hands down. It has been ages since I’ve been so addicted to a scripted television drama. Did I originally tune in because the lead was a black female? Yes. But the acting is incredible and the writing? Mind blowing. I didn’t realize how the stellar writing sets this show apart until I watched Megan Good’s show Deception last week. It was predictable with corny dialogue and an unoriginal story. Scandal takes twists and turns you’d never see coming, with smart, witty dialogue. Every Thursday night, Scandal fans take over Twitter. This show owes a lot of its popularity to social media and it actually lives up to the hype.
New adventures – 2013 is a year where I really have to make things happen for myself. I want that job, I want my books to be published, I want to travel more and I want that relationship. Anything can happen and I hope it will.
Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Television

Leave a Reply

