30 Days With a Kindle

I was that girl who was totally against e-readers. I was all, “I’d never get an e-reader, I love having a book in my hand and collecting books on my bookshelf!”

Then I realized I was broke and not getting an amazing discount on books anymore and the books I wanted were never at the library when I wanted them, so I started looking up e-readers and mentioning to my mother that maybe I’d get one “someday.”

I got a Kindle Paperwhite for my birthday last month. I was a little nervous. I had a stack of books I got for Christmas and now this shiny new e-reader that I wanted to fill with books. I didn’t know how I was going to juggle it all or if I would even like reading a novel on a device.

After a month with the Kindle, I’ve found that I’m reading more than I ever had (take away the enormous amount of time on my hands or that instead of obsessively writing like I usually do when I’m in a bad place, I’m obsessively reading.) I’ve read seven novels on the Kindle so far (two were short novellas I got for like $1 from Amazon), along with reading books. Like I said, my reading has become obsessive. 

What I love about my e-reader – The thing I love the MOST is climbing in to bed, turning all the lights off and curling up under the covers with my e-reader. It makes reading in bed so easy and comfortable. It’s easy to hold and it’s easy to turn the page. 

I’ve recently started highlighting memorable passages in books. I think this feature is going to come in handy the more I read. 

I love being able to “preview” a book from the Kindle store. I read the first 15-20 pages of The Goldfinch and I could not put it down.  I HAVE to read it. It’s next on my list.

The display on the Kindle really feels like your reading a book. I don’t see my reflection in the screen. I can change the brightness. It doesn’t feel as different from reading a physical book as I thought.

What I miss about books – There have been a few occasions I’ve gone to the bookstore to look at the book I’m reading on the Kindle and just find my place to see how far I’ve read. Even though the e-reader tells you what page you’re on and the percentage you’re at, there’s nothing like having a bookmark in a book and seeing how much you’ve read.

Also, there are some books I’ve read that I’m going to buy when they come out in paperback. For the only reason being they were so good I want to share it. I love passing along a good book and though it can be done with an e-reader, it’s not the same.

For now I’ve been going back and forth, reading a book one night then reading my Kindle the next night. I don’t think there will come a time I’m exclusively Kindle. I love having a stack of books. I love sharing books. I love the feeling of opening a brand new book.

But I love my e-reader. I think it will introduce me to new books and authors.

Books I’ve read on my e-reader:

Takedown Twenty – Janet Evanovich

All That Glitters – Alisa Valdes

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell (Loved this way too much)

The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion

Turn it Loose – Britni Danielle

Bared to You – Sylvia Day

Men We Reaped – Jesmyn Ward (Must read)

Physical books I’ve read recently:

The Invention of Wings – Sue Monk Kidd

Good Lord Bird – James McBride

Sula – Toni Morrison

Brother, I’m Dying – Edwidge Danticat

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

